Awards for Excellence in Short Term Study Away Programming

Study Away Advisory Committee (SAAC) seeks to recognize outstanding faculty members who foster cultural competence and community engagement in fulfillment of the University’s Public Affairs Mission. Short Term study away programs are defined as credit-offering programs that are eight weeks or less.

There are two Study Away Awards for Excellence in Short Term Study Away Programming for faculty members whose programs directly promote cultural competence, or community engagement. Nominations are reviewed by the Study Away Advisory Committee and awardees will be recognized by President Smart and Provost Einhellig at the May All Faculty Reception.

Study Away Programs solicits nominations for the Award for Excellence in Study Away Programming by emailing all student participants after the conclusion of their programs. A second email is sent to students close to the deadline of October 21. Nominees will be contacted by November 8 with the instructions for completing their application packet.

Study Away Advisory Committee (SAAC)

  • Lisa Proctor (CHHS), Chair
  • Terrel Gallaway (CHPA)
  • Janice Greene (CNAS)
  • Chuck Hermans (COB)
  • Gwen Walstrand (COAL)
  • Cara Smith (COE)
  • Christi Sudbrock (SOA)