CELTA Program Information

Missouri State's three program options allow you to choose the CELTA course that's right for you.

Online CELTA

The same quality CELTA courses, with online and seated components.

CELTA Basics

No matter what program you choose, your CELTA experience will prepare you for high quality teaching in TEFL/TESOL fields.

In addition to class time, students spend many out of class hours reading, preparing lesson plans, and working on assignments. It is recommended that any outside distractions should be avoided for the duration of your CELTA course. 

CELTA Course Disciplines

The CELTA course is divided into five disciplines of study:

  • Learners and teachers, and the teaching and learning context
  • Language analysis and awareness
  • Language skills: reading, listening, speaking and writing
  • Planning and resources for different contexts
  • Developing teaching skills and professionalism.

CELTA Assessment

Students are assessed throughout the course. There is no final examination. An external assessor, appointed by Cambridge English Language Assessment, moderates each course.

There are two types of assessment – Teaching Practice and Written Assignments. To get the CELTA certificate, you must pass both assessments. There are three passing grades:

  • Pass ‘A’
  • Pass ‘B’
  • Pass

Teaching Practice

CELTA students will teach for a total of six hours, working with classes at two levels of ability. Assessment is based on overall performance at the end of the six hours. 

Written Assignments

The course has four written assignments that focus on:

    • analyzing and responding to learner needs
    • analyzing language for teaching purposes
    • teaching language skills
    • reflecting on classroom teaching.